the pleasure garden

First they came for the asylum seekers and immigrants, but I am a fourth generation assimilated Jew, so I did nothing.
Next they came for the social housing tenants, but I am mortgaged to the hilt with more children than bedrooms, so I just shared on FB.
Next they came for the sick and disabled, but my disability is invisible and I get no benefits for it, so I just tweeted.
Next they came for the NHS and Higher Education, but I live in a devolved state and thought it did not apply here, so I just blogged.
Next they came for Access to Work and capped support, but I had got back into work through my own efforts, hiding my additional needs in case of discrimination, so I just put satirical posts on social media.
Then they came for the European Convention on Human Rights:
[right to life;
right…

View original post 82 more words

