reflections of a young lefty

I am 26 years old. Anyone who was born in the late 80s/90s and into the same socio-economic background as me has had a pretty bleak political experience thus far in life.

I was born under a Conservative government. John Major became Prime Minister the year I was born. I remember seeing him on television as a very young child and not understanding why he made my parents so angry.

Aged 7, Tony Blair became our Prime Minister. I was too young to understand the differences between Labour and Conservative at the time, or what the meaning of the election was. In hindsight, I can see that his leadership of the country made some good changes after the Tory rule of the previous 20 years. However he also presided over the changes in charges for University, opening the doors for future governments to increase them more, a decision which has left me with…

View original post 865 more words

